Chapters written: 1.75

A bit of blog neglect recently but don’t worry I’ve been saving up ideas for posts so there’s plenty to come when I get a chance to sit down and sort them out. For now a little up date on how thesis writing is going.

home-office
My little home office (also known as our spare bedroom) – I work here in the day but make sure the shut the door at night and leave the PhD in there. 

Chapters written: 1.75

I’m close to having two results chapters in the bag, one’s completely drafted and the other has all the figures drafted (complete with legends) and just needs to be written. I know that definitely doesn’t sound like the second chapter is 75% finished but have faith, writing is the quick part. Processing the data and making the figures is the painful part for me. Once that process is complete the words seem to flow. By the time I’ve finished agonising over the figures I have a good idea of what I’d like to say. When the ideas are ordered in my mind I can write a few thousands words in a day if I need to.

Schedule: Recently adjusted but on track 

My original schedule involved writing a results chapter per month during Oct-Dec. I’m a little behind on this but that’s through adjustment rather than falling behind. I’m in the process of writing a review paper for a deadline early in the new year. I planned to write that at the start of December but I’ve switch the review and second results chapters around in order to fit better with the schedules of my co-writers. I hope to still be on track with three results chapters drafted by the end of 2016. If I overrun it’s not a problem, a good amount of work towards my introduction (planned for the new year) has been done in the last week, giving me a little wiggle room in January.

Words written: Quite a few

Everything is in separate documents so I’m not overly concerned with keeping track of the exact word count at the moment. In the new year I’ll let you know some actual numbers but I can tell you now that I intend to write as concise a thesis as I can.

That’s all for now but questions, tips, comments and ideas welcomed, thanks for reading 🙂 .

Leave a Reply

