In a black hole of undergraduate marking – Wed 4th April

Monday was a Bank holiday here in the UK and I planned to use the day to try and get all my undergraduate marking done, unfortunately it didn’t quite go that way. Instead I spent the day browsing Pinterest for wedding inspiration… but hey I’m allowed to enjoy my Bank holiday right.

This did mean that I’ve now spent all of Tuesday and Wednesday doing the marking instead. I generally try not to do this kind of work during “PhD hours” but the turn around on these was just over a week and I have 32 to mark. I’ll make up the time somewhere along the way.

Tuesday looked like this:

8:30-9:30am Marking, 10-11am Lab Meeting, 11:30am Very early lunch, 12-1pm Seminar, 1-2pm Marking, 2-3pm ANOTHER seminar, 3-6pm Marking and dealing with admin nightmare (with a 10min gap to watch Tim Minchin’s Storm), 6pm Home time.

Days work: ~50% of the way through the marking and one big fat rant when an admin error meant I was sent an email that said I was absent for the whole of April without permission (if I was I did a really solid job of making up realistic blog posts I think….). I lost my rag a little, ok a lot, and too much, but I really don’t appreciate getting emails with big, bold, red chunks of text pointing me to the senate regulations stating my studies will be terminated when I’ve done nothing wrong! Essentially someone misplaced something in a email inbox which led to my lovely threatening email, despite me adhering to all guidelines. The admin burdens that have been placed on Universities and Post-Grads through the governments ridiculous rules surrounding international students (which have subsequently been applied to all of us for fairness) make me so angry. But that’s a topic for another day.

Wednesday looked like this:

8:30-9:30am Faffed about on the computer booking flights to Barcelona (!), 9:30-11am Marking, 11-11:20am Morning break to grab a diet coke and clear my mind of chi-squared calculations for a few mins, 11:30-12:45pm Marking, 12:45-1:30pm Lunch (amazing food from the March Masala pop up in the students union). 1:30-5pm Marking (with the odd break to grab a cup of tea). 5pm Pilates time.

Days work: I’m 95% done with the undergraduate marking, tomorrow I can do some actual PhD work 🙂 .

P.S. the admin thing was resolved but it did involve me sending an email that also included big, bold, red letters just to get my point across 😉 .

 

 

Leave a Reply

