A day of two halves – Mon 30th Nov

Today was a day of two halves, my lab work was strong but all I achieved sitting at my computer was looking at twitter. I arrived at 9:15am after my Monday morning swim, and didn’t do anything until 10:30am. I was on and off in the lab all day with lots of incubation times (bacteria need time to grow, it’s just a fact of life) .

My morning involved setting up a big gel, that I managed to fit all 96 samples on, before digesting them ready for sequencing this afternoon.

I also made (or tried to make, outcome currently unknown) my new mutant. That’s what the plate in the middle picture is, you can see the different layers of agar used make it, before it went in the rather empty looking incubator!

In the end this afternoon I did manage to get some work done at the computer – I started work on the slides for my third year talk which is happening in about 3 weeks time. It felt good to get that started and I now have a basic outline that I can start to fill in. Just before leaving at 5pm I set up some overnight cultures to make some DNA tomorrow.

I got soaked in the rain on the way home so made myself feel better by making some brownies 🙂 , if my workmates are lucky I might take them in with me tomorrow. Until then everyone, thanks for reading.

Leave a Reply

