Friday – Sunday 5-7/06/2015

I know I know, I owe you Friday’s post. Let’s just say life got in the way. After a bad week I needed to switch off from the PhD so I could get fully back on track, also the run down of Friday is pretty short – I was busy but there’s not a lot to write about really …

Friday

I arrived at work at 8am and was in the lab by 8:30am I worked solidly until 12pm. I had a quick recovery break with a diet coke and piece of cake (well earned in my opinion) and then filled out some paperwork until 1:30pm (admin must be done). At 1:30pm I went off to the bosses office for our weekly meeting (early this week as we have a departmental party at 3pm!). So it was a rapid fire meeting until about 2:45pm and then it was party time (for everyone else). At 3pm I was on my way out the door to the train station as my boyfriend and I had plans with his family. I was home by 3:30pm and we were on the road by 4pm. Sneaky early Friday finish ๐Ÿ™‚ although I am a little gutted I missed out on the free wine and food (I contributed a Victoria sponge to the event).

Our evening was spent relaxing with lovely food and not thinking about work ๐Ÿ™‚ .

Saturday

I didn’t start Saturday with my usual Pilates class as we weren’t at home, instead we had a lazy morning with a big breakfast. We stayed long enough to see the conclusion of the Andy Murray/Novak Djokovic French Open semi final and then headed back home. I did convince the boyfriend to make a minor detour to the lab so I could pick a few bacterial colonies and re-streak them, otherwise the day was PhD free.

Saturday lab selfie
Saturday lab selfie

Sunday

A completely PhD free day as we spent it putting a second coat of paint on our bedroom walls. For a little background my boyfriend and I bought our first house earlier this year and we’re completely in love with it. We like to try and do little projects when we have the time and recently we’ve been working on the bedroom and have perfected our wallpapering and painting skills ๐Ÿ™‚ . Anyway the second coat of paint looks amazing and I feel very proud of us!

Until, well, later today ๐Ÿ™‚ and thank you for reading

Leave a Reply

