An introduction to the Daily Life of a PhD

I’ve had a wordpress blog sitting here for a while but I hadn’t been able to make a final decision on what to do with it. I wanted it to be something that’s hopefully unique but also useful to other PhD’s and potential PhD’s (and anyone else who fancies a look). Today I was struck by a little inspiration, how about a realistic view of the day to day life of a PhD student. I read a lot of other blogs by PhD students, they are all excellent, but I’ve noticed a focus on either communicating science (a wonderful, brilliant and hugely important task in itself) or just reporting on the big events (first year upgrade, submission, viva), generally with an understandably negative slant. While the big events are obviously defining moments in our lives as PhD students they are few and far between. I routinely go through up and downs, periods of motivation followed by self-doubt and guilt, with many struggles to stay on top of my to do list in between. So I thought why not write a short post each day, I’ll try to include pictures and I definitely intend to write about my non-PhD activities and *gasp* weekends! I am a firm believer in enjoying my weekends, although sometimes that’s harder than I’d like it to be.

I’ll try to be honest, if I have an unproductive day I’ll tell you, if I come home in the evening and just watch TV I’ll tell you, if I come home and complete an entire lesson plan for the teaching I do I’ll definitely tell you (getting the idea?) 🙂 . My posts won’t be long but I will try to give you a genuine insight into my days.

So to give you a quick run down of today:

This morning I definitely wasn’t as productive as I could’ve been but I did manage to prepare myself with a new protocol which led to a very productive afternoon. This morning was probably the result of heading over to the students union to meet guide dog puppies (an activity intended to destress undergrads but I wasn’t missing out just because I don’t have exams). I did spend a solid few hours in the lab this afternoon though and started making my way through some labour intensive work – by 5pm I was feeling good about my day. A typical work day for me lasts until 6pm when I leave to get the train home but on a Wednesday I head off to pilates for a little bit of exercise and “me” time. Pilates makes me feel energised and refreshed and I’m really enjoying the classes I’ve been going to the last few weeks. With an evening pilates class there isn’t much time left in the day but I came home and cooked a quick dinner for my other half and I (omelette with Jersey Royals 🙂 🙂 🙂 ). And now here I am, finally getting an idea going for my blog. Overall a positive day even if it did have a slow start.

4 thoughts on “An introduction to the Daily Life of a PhD

  1. I’m so happy to have stumbled across your blog! I’ve been trying to pick up the courage to do something similar, blogwise, and I thought there must be a reason no one else was doing it.

    I think it’ll be really refreshing to get a more rounded view of what actually PhD life is like – can’t wait to see how you get on.

    Carla

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hi Carla
      Thank you! I’m hoping it goes well and I’m going to try and be as honest as I can (the good, the bad and the ugly …). Feel free to get on my case if I miss a day or two as well 🙂
      Megan

      Like

  2. I am also trying to give a more “rounded view”, but since I am starting this Fall, I am not in the full swing of daily posts yet. I enjoy your science stuff, since I am not in science, it gives me a different perspective. I look forward to following your posts.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

